The Swan House, built in 1928, stands prominently at the apex of a rising slope overlooking Andrews Drive. Double staircases flank a cascading fountain and rise to its breathtaking Italian Mannerist façade. Topped by a heavy, segmented pediment, the central doorway is flanked by niches on the first floor. An Italian attic extension, which is punctuated by a circular window at its center, rises above the cornice of this western façade. Meanwhile, the entrance façade faces what most consider to be the rear of the property. It features an English Palladian-inspired two-story portico with four massive columns topped by a heavy entablature and triangular pediment.
The Swan House was designed by prominent Atlanta architect Philip T. Shutze for Edward H. Inman, a wealthy Atlanta cotton industry executive, and his wife Emily. It is an excellent example of the Second Renaissance Revival style popular at the end of the 1920s. After Emily Inman’s death in 1965, the Swan House became the home of the Atlanta Historical Society. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1977 and was designated an Atlanta Landmark Building in 1989.
Swan House is located on the extensive grounds of the Atlanta History Center. For more information about guided tours or to take a virtual tour of Swan House, visit www.atlantahistorycenter.com
For more information on the history and significance of Swan House, visit www.atlantaga.gov
Photo credit: Atlanta History Center
. For permission to use the above photographs, please contact the Atlanta History Center.